No matter how it appears, these are not New Year’s Resolutions

1 Jan

I made no resolutions for the New Year.  The habit of making plans, of criticizing, sanctioning and molding my life, is too much of a daily event for me.  ~Anaïs Nin

I used to make long lists of New Year’s resolutions, carefully thinking of what I want to start fresh with in the New Year. I stopped making them a few years ago. From what I’ve read, most New Year’s resolutions (weight loss, exercise, etc.) are doomed even before the new year begins. Nowadays, I find myself making more “semester resolutions” than New Year’s ones, making plans and adjustments to how I work from semester to semester. I still appreciate the passage of time into a new calendar year, though, and the possibilities and potential for the new year ahead. And since this year was one of such transition for us (moving, new job) I’m looking forward to what will hopefully be a bit of a stable, settled year.

For the past few weeks I’ve been thinking of a few “resolutions.” Maybe they’re for the New Year. Maybe they’re just for the upcoming semester, which is bound to be one of less adjustment than last semester, the first at my new TT job. So now that the serious acclimation period is over, I can work on some new habits– to bring in more of what I love into life.

New Year’s Goals:

536236_464644663595931_2024911457_nRead more fiction: I got some fantastic books for Christmas, and I still have digital and physical stacks of assorted fiction (lots of Scandinavian mysteries) to read. I would love to start reading again before bed for at least 20 minutes.

Read more non-fiction: I want to make time to read more literature in my field (not just related to teaching or what I happen to be writing at the moment). And I would love to read more non-fiction more broadly. More biographies and history books.

More running: I run pretty regularly now, but I think it’s time to start pushing myself a little more. Upping my mileage (I don’t really care about speed). Maybe a half marathon in the fall would be a good goal.

Frequent goals and progress reports:  I’d like to start having weekly meetings with myself, going over my schedule, goals and to-do lists. I love Anaïs Nin’s quote about making plans as a daily event. And I might start to post those weekly to-do lists and progress reports here.

That’s it! Nothing major. Now I think I’ll enjoy the rest of the day and get some reading done!

Leave a Reply

