2 Weeks In: Reviewing & Adjusting My Schedule

20 Sep

We’re now 2 full weeks into the semester, so it seems like a good time to sit down and take stock of where I’m at with following the schedule I outlined a few weeks back.

What’s worked:

  • Having a schedule. Seriously, just mapping out when I’m going to do what (not just appointments and classes) has helped me feel so much more organized and productive. I hung it up in my office and it keeps me more focused during the week.
  • Coming into school an extra day: My new schedule includes coming into school a 4th day (we’re really only required to be on campus 3 days a week). Not only do I have to come in sometimes anyway for meetings, but thinking of Thursday as a full day of work helps keep me productive. If I stayed home, I might be somewhat productive, but I’d be distracted by stuff I needed to do at home.
  • Scheduled writing time: This has been eaten into the last couple weeks (see why below), but knowing that I have set times where I have to write really helps.
  • Scheduled research/reading time: Knowing that I have Fridays to catch up on some errands, and also focus on reading and research has also been great. I plan to do specific tasks those days, and then don’t feel badly about not doing them other days.

What hasn’t worked: 

  • Events: The beginning of the school year always means extra meetings and events (Meet the New Provost! All College Meeting! etc.). These cut into my writing and prep time during the first two weeks. Hopefully there won’t be many of those coming up.
  • Committee Meetings: Yeah, I knew I’d be on committees this year (we’re only exempt from service our first year), but jeez, I wholly underestimated the amount of work involved. I shouldn’t have– I’ve done administrative work before, but I guess I blocked it out. Not only do I have committee meetings, there is work that goes along with those committees (especially since I’m the chair of one). And because I’m still new, there is time spent finding out from other people what I should being doing as chair on said committees, and learning how everything works. In short: I need to schedule in 2 hours a week for committee work and other admin-related paperwork.
  • Club Advisement: As the Soc Club Advisor, I actually have to go to their weekly meetings! So, I’ll add that to the schedule.
  • Running: I’m happy that despite a head cold, and the spell of 90 degree weather, I’ve gotten out for 3 really good runs over this 2 week period. But, the Monday/Wednesday/Friday running schedule isn’t going to work. Mondays is fine. I teach two classes and generally have enough energy when I get home for a run. Wednesdays is impossible. I teach late on Tuesday night, and then teach early Wednesday morning. That’s not an ideal schedule for me anyway because (a) teaching is exhausting, and (b) I’m just not a morning person, but it is what it is. So I’m tired enough to only relax Wednesday night. Running will have to be moved to Thursday. And then another run Saturday, which works out just fine. Regular running = a happy Jan in the Pan!

So, here’s a new schedule for the rest of the semester (Department meetings and Curriculum Committee meetings aren’t actually weekly, thank the goddess, but they’re on here as a good example of interrupted time). All in all, I like the idea of planning things out. I used to be resistant to how rigid this seems, but I think I see now that this is necessary in order to get done all the many different things I have to get done every day. No more multitasking (which we know is a myth, anyway), instead I’m trying to work on one task at a time, in it’s allotted time slot.

CapturFiles

Leave a Reply

